Michigan Fishing License Fees: How Much Does It Cost To Go Fishing In Michigan?

How Much Is A Fishing License In Michigan 

If you’re looking to wet a line in the Great Lakes State, you’ll need to purchase a Michigan fishing license.

But how much does it cost to go fishing in Michigan?

And what do you get for your money?

In this blog post, we’ll take a look at Michigan fishing license fees and what each type of license allows anglers to do.

How Much Is A Fishing License In Michigan? 

Options for a license include:

  • Annual all-species resident Annual all-species resident: $26.
  • Annual nonresident all-species Annual all-species nonresidents: $76.
  • Seniors of all species annual Seniors’ all-species annual cost: $11 (65 and over (or legally blind Michigan Residents only).
  • All-species annual youth Youth: $1 (voluntary permit for citizens and non-residents younger than 17).
  • Residents and non-residents of all species daily $10.00 per day (you decide the date/time you want the the license to begin).

What Do You Get For Your Money?

Some additional benefits of being a licensed angler include discounts on camping, hunting, and ORV licenses as well as access to more than 100 million acres of public land for recreation activities like hunting, fishing, and hiking.

So now that we know how much a Michigan fishing license costs and what benefits come along with it, there’s really only one question left to answer: when are you going fishing?

 

How much will you pay to fish without a permit within Michigan?

Violation Fee

  • Fishing without a permit (Michigan residents) $195
  • Fishing without a license (Non-resident) $245
  • The cost of borrowing or lending a license is $245.
  • Alter or acquire licenses for fraudulent reasons $295
  • Possessing someone else’s license as your own $295
  • Transferring a license to another person $295
  • Fishing with an unlicensed guide $495

Anyone caught fishing without a permit will be charged a minimum of $195. If you’re not a Michigan resident, the fee is increased to $245.

You can also be fined for borrowing or lending licenses, altering licenses for fraudulent reasons, possessing someone else’s license, and transferring a license to another person.

The most expensive fine is for fishing with an unlicensed guide, which costs $495.

So how much does it cost to get a fishing license in Michigan? A one-day pass is just $11 for residents and $30 for non-residents.

A yearly license costs $76 for residents and $266 for non-residents. If you’re planning on fishing with a guide, make sure they are licensed, as it could save you a lot of money in the long run!

 

Does Walmart sell fishing licenses Michigan?

Indeed, Walmart seels fishing licenses in Michigan. The cost of a license depends on the type of fishing you plan to do: freshwater, saltwater, or both.

A one-day license for Michigan residents costs $11. A seven-day license for non-residents costs $30.

An annual fishing license for residents (valid for the calendar year) costs $26. For non-residents, an annual fishing license costs $76.

You can purchase your Michigan fishing license online, or at any retailer that sells hunting and fishing licenses.

When purchasing your license, you will need to provide proof of residency if you are a Michigan resident.

 

Can you release and catch fish in the off-season on the shores of Michigan?

The catch-and-immediate-release season for bass is open all year on nearly all waters (unless otherwise closed to fishing – check the 2021 Michigan Fishing Guide for more information).

The Michigan muskellunge possession season begins on June 5th, Saturday across every one of the Great Lakes, inland waters, Lake St. Clair and Lake St. Clair Metropark.

The daily bag limit for bass is five fish per person in all waters (including Great Lakes and inland lakes) across the state, with a minimum size limit of 14 inches.

For muskellunge, the daily bag limit is one fish per person on all waters (including Great Lakes), with a minimum size limit of 40 inches.

If you want to learn more about fishing licenses in Michigan or other states, check out our blog post on fishing license fees!

Can you release and catch fish in the off-season on the shores of Michigan?

Yes, you can release and catch fish during the off-season on the shores of Michigan. The catch-and-immediate-release season for bass is open all year on nearly all waters (unless otherwise closed to fishing – check the 2021 Michigan Fishing Guide for more information).

The Michigan muskellunge possession season begins on June Saturday across every one of the Great Lakes, inland waters, Lake St. Clair and Lake St. Clair Metropark.

 

Do you require an fishing license to fish and release fish in Michigan?

Licenses are required for you are fishing for amphibians, fish or crustaceans, and reptiles in the public waters of the state.

If you’re older than 17 and older and you fish in Michigan you will need to purchase a fishing licence, unless you meet one of the many exceptions.

A fishing license in Michigan costs between $26 and $40, depending on the type of license you need and how long it is valid for.

You can purchase a license online, at a Michigan Department of Natural Resources office or at a sporting goods store.

If you are younger than 17 years old, you do not need to have a fishing license if you are:

  • Accompanied by an adult who has a valid Michigan fishing license
  • A resident of Michigan who is participating in the Take Me Fishing! program
  • A person with a disability who has been issued a free permit

You also do not need a fishing license if you are an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian tribe fishing on reservation lands.

If you are 65 years old or older, you can get a reduced-fee senior citizen license. Michigan also offers free licenses to active military members and veterans with certain disabilities.

Some people are exempt from having to purchase a license, but everyone else will need to buy one before they go fishing in Michigan.

The cost of a license is relatively cheap, and it helps to support the state’s fish and wildlife populations.

So if you’re planning on spending some time fishing in Michigan, be sure to get your license first!

 

Do you require an angling stamp for trout in order to go fishing on Lake Michigan?

Everyone who is 16 or older must be licensed to fish. Licenses can be purchased on the internet (What To Bring page for links to the proper places) or in the nearest Walmart, Bass Pro Shop, Cabelas, Ace Hardware etc.

If you already possess an State of Illinois Fishing License and you also own an official Lake Michigan Salmon Stamp, then you are all set to fish in Michigan waters for salmon.

You can purchase a Lake Michigan Salmon Stamp when you buy your annual fishing license, or as a separate item.

The cost for the stamp is $12 for residents and $24 for non-residents.

You must have the stamp in your possession while fishing on Lake Michigan, even if you do not intend to fish for salmon.

If you are only going to fish in inland lakes, then all you need is an Illinois Fishing License which can be purchased at any of the above locations or on the internet.

An Illinois Resident age 65 and older may obtain a free Fishing License from the Department by completing an application (available on our website).

Please note that some bodies of water may require special permits in addition to a valid Fishing License.

For example, many of the Forest Preserves in Cook County require a special use permit in addition to a valid Fishing License.

These are available at any of the above locations or on the internet.

 

When is the best time to fish without a permit on the state of Michigan?

You are required to buy an official fishing license when you are 17 years old or old or older to fish.

If you’re under the age of 17 years old, you can fish without a license but you must adhere to all rules of fishing and rules.

Adults who are actively helping the minor who doesn’t possess a license must carry an official fishing permit.

The best time to fish without a permit on the state of Michigan is usually in the spring or fall. In order to fish without a license, you must be under the age of 16 years old.

You can also fish without a license if you are disabled, blind, or an active member of the military.

If you are 17 years old or older, you must have a valid fishing license to fish in Michigan waters.

You can purchase a fishing license online through the Michigan Department of Natural Resources website or at any authorized retail location.

 

Do you require a fishing permit to fish and release fishing in Michigan?

Licenses are required for you are fishing for amphibians, fish or reptiles, as well as crustaceans in the waters within the state.

If you’re 17 years old or older and you fish in Michigan you will need to buy a fishing permit, unless you’re fishing on a license-free fishing week.

Permits can be bought online, or at any retail location that sells hunting and fishing licenses.

All persons must have their own permit, except for those under the age of 17 who are not required to have a permit if they fish during a license-free week.

If you plan on catching and keeping fish, there are size limits and number of fish per day that you’re allowed to keep depending on the type of fish.

For more information about size limits and number of fish per day, please refer to the Michigan Fishing Guide.

If you’re just catch and release fishing, then no permit is required as long as you adhere to all other state regulations.

 

Do you require a permit to fish in Lake Michigan?

Anyone who is 16 years old or over are required to be licensed to fish. It is possible to purchase these licenses on the internet and from the nearest Walmart, Bass Pro Shop, Cabelas, Ace Hardware etc.

If you already possess an State of Illinois Fishing License and you also own an official Lake Michigan Salmon Stamp, then you are good to go.

If you’re a non-resident, you’ll need to purchase a Non-Resident Lake Michigan Fishing License as well as the Salmon Stamp.

The daily catch limit for salmon is two per person and the size limit is 20 inches.

There is no size or number limit for trout and other panfish, but the daily catch limit is eight.

It’s worth noting that there are different regulations in place for those fishing on charter boats, so be sure to check with your captain before heading out.

Now that you know the requirements, get out there and enjoy some of the best fishing around! Just be sure to take care of our natural resources and practice catch and release if possible.

 

Do the elderly require fishing permits for Ohio?

The bill gives free fishing and hunting permits and licenses to Ohio residents 65 years old or over.

The bill also exempts the elderly from paying the waterfowl and deer hunting permit fees.

To get a free fishing license, senior citizens must present proof of age and residency to any license vendor or the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) Division of Wildlife District Office.

Senior citizens are still required to follow all other fishing regulations, including size and catch limits.

Anglers 65 years old or older do not need a trout permit to fish in Ohio.

However, they must have a valid Ohio fishing license.

The exemption for the Lake Erie charter boat permits is only for Ohio residents who are 65 years old or older.

Non-Ohio residents who are 65 years old or older must have a valid Lake Erie charter boat permit to fish on a charter boat in Ohio waters of Lake Erie.

The exemption for the Lake Erie commercial fishing permits is only for Ohio residents who are 65 years old or older.

Non-Ohio residents who are 65 years old or older must have a valid Lake Erie commercial fishing permit to fish commercially in Ohio waters of Lake Erie.

 

Can be you fish in Michigan without a permit?

You need to purchase the fishing license when you are 17 years old or old or more to fish.

If you’re under the age of 17, you are able to fish without a permit, however, you must adhere to all rules of fishing and rules.

Adults who are actively helping an underage person who does not possess a permit must hold a fishing permit themselves.

There are many different types of fishing licenses that you can purchase in Michigan, each with their own set of benefits.

The most popular type of license is the All-Species License, which gives you the ability to fish for all species of fish in Michigan waters.

Other types of licenses include the Senior Citizen Passport, which allows Michigan residents who are 65 years or older to fish without a license.

There are also one-day and seven-day permits available for non-residents, as well as annual permits for both residents and non-residents.

If you choose to purchase a fishing license, you can do so online through the Michigan Department of Natural Resources website or at any authorized license vendor location.

Does a 70-year-old require a fishing permit for Indiana?

Indiana people who live in Indiana who are minimum age 64 and were born on or after April 31, 1943 have to buy a senior fishing permit to be able to fish within Indiana. The Annual Senior Fishing as well as the Senior Fish-for Life licenses come with the stamp for salmon and trout. The Senior Fish-for Life license is valid for all of owner’s life.

What is the maximum fine for Michigan for fishing with no license?

Violation Fee

  • Fishing without a license (Michigan residents) $195
  • Fishing without a license (Non-resident) $245
  • The cost of borrowing or lending a license is $245.
  • Alternate or obtain license for fraudulent reasons $295

At what age is fishing licenses available for anglers in Ohio?

The bill removes residents’ reduced cost senior fishing and hunting permits and licenses given from the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and instead, requires the Department to offer free fishing and hunting permits and licenses for Ohio residents aged 65 or older.

Alex Brad

Alex Brad is a blogger for YapQ who loves the outdoors. He has a passion for fishing, camping, and exploring new places. Alex likes to share his experiences with others through his writing, and he hopes to inspire people to get out and enjoy nature. When he's not blogging, Alex enjoys spending time with his wife and kids.

Recent Posts